About Us

The Yukon River Inter-Tribal Watershed Council is an Indigenous grassroots non-profit organization, consisting of 73 First Nations and Tribes, dedicated to the protection and preservation of the Yukon River Watershed. The YRITWC accomplishes this by providing Yukon First Nations and Alaska Tribes in the Yukon Watershed with technical assistance, such as facilitating the development and exchange of information, coordinating efforts between First Nations and Tribes, undertaking research, and providing training, education and awareness programs to promote the health of the Watershed and its Indigenous peoples.

Our Mission
We, the Indigenous Tribes/First Nations from the headwaters to the mouth of the Yukon River, having been placed here by our Creator, do hereby agree to initiate and continue the clean up and preservation of the Yukon River for the protection of our own and future generations of our Tribes/First Nations and for the continuation of our traditional Native way of life.

Our Vision
Our vision, put simply, is “to be able to drink water directly from the Yukon River”. To that end, we dedicate ourselves to a number of tenets:


  • Understanding: We are dedicated to understanding the Yukon River Watershed by means of monitoring, measuring and researching, and to use this knowledge to clean, enhance and preserve life along the Yukon River.
  • Education: We are dedicated to promoting environmental and traditional education for the Indigenous Peoples of the Yukon River Watershed, by means of education programs, scholarships, internships, volunteer opportunities and incentive programs.
  • Stewardship: In honor of our heritage, we are dedicated to being good stewards of the Yukon River Watershed and its tributaries, and to restore and preserve its health for the benefit of future generations.
  • Enforcement: We are dedicated to developing and enforcing strong state, federal, territorial and provincial environmental standards to preserve the long-term health of the Yukon River Watershed.
  • Organization: We are dedicated to providing greater organizational strength to the Indigenous Peoples of the Yukon River Watershed, both by assisting and improving Indigenous governments, and also by being a model of organization built on collaboration and mutual respect.


Our Executive Committee
The YRITWC Board of Directors is comprised of the Indigenous Peoples gathered at the bi-annual summit meetings. At these summit meetings, 14 steering committee members are selected (7 from Alaska and 7 from the Yukon) through a process of consensus. Executive Committee members do not represent any First Nation or Tribal Government; rather, they represent the geographic areas of those governments.


YRITWC Co-Chairs

Yukon Flats
Chief Clarence Alexander
Fort Yukon, Alaska 99740

Carcross Tagish
George Shepherd
Carcross, YT Y0B 1B0



Alaska Region Executive Committee Members

Middle Yukon
Kathleen Peters-Zuray
Tanana, AK 99771
Middle Yukon Alternate
Maryanne Whiel
Rampart, AK 99767
Tanana River
Rondell Jimmie
Nenana, AK 99760

Tanana River Alternate

Chief Victor Lord

Innoko Confluence
David Maillelle, 2nd Chief
Grayling, Alaska 99590
Innoko Confluence Alternate
Chief Carl Jerue, Jr.
Anvik, Alaska 99558
Koyukuk River
Karen Kriska
Nenana, Alaska 99760

Koyukuk River Alternate

Robert Albert

Lower Yukon
James Landlord
Mountain Village, Alaska 99632
Coastal Communities
Morgan Simon
Hooper Bay AK 99662
Elder Advisor
Sarah James
Arctic Village, AK 99722
Elder Advisor
Chief Peter Captain Sr.
Fairbanks, AK 99709
Elder Advisor
Trimble Gilbert
Arctic Village, AK 99722
Elder Advisor
Chief Benedict Jones
Koyukuk, AK 99754

Elder Advisor
Martha Wright
Ruby, AK 99768

Elder Advisor
Pat Sweetsir
Ruby, AK 99768
Elder Advisor
Nick Andrew Sr
Marshall, AK 99585


Yukon Region Executive Committee Members

Northern Tutchone
Chief Eric Fairclough
Carmacks, YT Y0B 1C0
Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in
Darren Taylor
Dawson City, YT Y0B 1G0
Southern Tutchone
Geraldine Pope
Burwash Landing, YT Y0B 1V0
Chief Daniel Morris
Watson Lake, YT Y0A 1C0
Kwanlin Dün
Jessie Dawson
Whitehorse, YT Y1A5A5
White River
Chief Angela Demit
Beaver Creek, YT Y0B 1A0
Stewart River
Chief Simon Mervyn
Mayo, Yukon Y0B 1M0
Elder Advisor
Harold Gatensby
Carcross, YT Y0B 1B0
Elder Advisor
Stanley James
Carcross, YT Y0B 1B0