top of page

About Us

The Yukon River Inter-Tribal Watershed Council is an Indigenous grassroots non-profit organization, consisting of 73 First Nations and Tribes, dedicated to the protection and preservation of the Yukon River Watershed. The YRITWC accomplishes this by providing Yukon First Nations and Alaska Tribes in the Yukon Watershed with technical assistance, such as facilitating the development and exchange of information, coordinating efforts between First Nations and Tribes, undertaking research, and providing training, education and awareness programs to promote the health of the Watershed and its Indigenous peoples.

YRITWC Co-Chairs

Co- Charis

Chief Clarence Alexander

Yukon Flats
Fort Yukon, Alaska

Co- Chairs

George Shepherd


Carcross, Yukon



Alaska Region Executive Committe Members

Elder Advisor

Sarah James
Arctic Village, AK 99722

Elder Advisor

Trimble Gilbert
Arctic Village, AK 99722

Elder Advisor

Chief Peter Captain Sr.
Fairbanks, AK 99709

Elder Advisor

Martha Wright
Ruby, AK 99768

Elder Advisor

Chief Benedict Jones

Koyukuk, AK 99754

Elder Advisor

Nick Andrew Sr
Marshall, AK 99585

Elder Advisor

Eliza Jones

Koyuk, Alaska 99753

Yukon Region Exectuive Committe Members

Northern Tutchone

Chief Eric Fairclough
Carmacks, YT Y0B 1C0

Southern Tutchone

Geraldine Pope
Burwash Landing, YT Y0B 1V0

Kwanlin Dün

Jessie Dawson
Whitehorse, YT Y1A5A5

Stewart River

Chief Simon Mervyn

Mayo, Yukon Y0B 1M

Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in

Darren Taylor
Dawson City, YT Y0B 1G0


Chief Daniel Morris
Watson Lake, YT Y0A 1C0

White River

Chief Angela Demit
Beaver Creek, YT Y0B 1A0

Elder Advisor

Harold Gatensby
Carcross, YT Y0B 1B0

Elder Advisor

Stanley James
Carcross, YT Y0B 1B0

bottom of page